15 thoughts on “Open Mic

  1. Scott says:

    The best reader’s editions of various Bible translations: designed for continuous reading as opposed to research or study.

  2. Scripture Zealot says:

    If one were to assert that neither formal nor dynamic (or whatever terms you want to use) is “better” than the other, what types of people are better suited to each type. Could it be possible that some new and previously unchurched Christians would be better suited with the ESV or NASB as opposed to a “starter” translation?
    Jeff

  3. Juan says:

    Yes, I have the NTV Gospel of John and I just ordered a few copies of the new testament which was released a week ago or so. I read John and Its almost Identical as the english one. I am so happy Tyndale decided to do a spanish one since I am unable to find an easy to read yet accurate translation for my friends and family who only speak spanish.

  4. David Ker says:

    Anybody have a tip for Jay?

    Scott, have you found any that you like?

    Jeff, you wrote, “Could it be possible that some new and previously unchurched Christians would be better suited with the ESV or NASB as opposed to a “starter” translation?”

    Theoretically it could be. But in terms of impact of the message, I think a natural English translation would be the best entry point. (You knew I’d say that, right?) If a “seeker” in America asked me for a Bible, I would give them a NLT unless I knew that the church they might plug into uses NIV.

  5. Scott says:

    I haven’t found a reader’s edition that has every feature I’m looking for. Generally there’s one big flaw: tiny type, or an odd typeface, or too much ghosting from the other side of the page. The New Jerusalem Bible comes sort of close, with one-column Times Roman type. I used to have a one-column NIV in an excellent pebbled leather binding with large Palatino type and wish I still had it. Not sure what I did with it!

  6. Raymond says:

    Would the LXX have been viewed as a formal or dynamic equivalent translation in the days of Jesus Christ? Or before then?

  7. Peter Kirk says:

    Raymond, it is hard to say how the original readers might have classified LXX, especially by the standards of our own times. But if we judge it today by those standards, I think we find a mixture. Large parts of it are very much formal equivalent translation. But other parts, especially in the poetic books I think, are much more on the lines of today’s dynamic equivalence translations. Indeed sometimes LXX becomes a very free translation, but it is hard to know when that is because it is based on a highly variant Hebrew text.

  8. Raymond says:

    Thank you for your answer….I will continue to read this blog to learn more with regard to various translations. I own most of the ones that you speak of on this site but am unfamiliar with the “NTV”. All I want to do at the end of the day is to understand what I read.

Leave a Reply

