Bible vocabulary quiz

Last night I created a quiz on Facebook for testing how well people know some of the special English vocabulary found in many Bibles. If you are on Facebook, I invite you to take the test by clicking here. Be sure to pay attention to the verses provided to give context to help you determine the correct answer (correct according to the meaning intended by the Bible translators).

If you are not on Facebook, well, it’s free and easy to subscribe to, but it can be addictive. Caveat emptor!

Feel free to comment here on any problems you spot in the quiz. It is easy for me to fix problems (in the quiz, that is!!).

9 thoughts on “Bible vocabulary quiz

  1. CD-Host says:

    Very good quiz. Makes the point about biblish very effectively.

    Well I’d say 2 things to change potentially:

    1) Indicate how the scoring works.
    2) Mention that the 20 second count down isn’t 20 seconds. I didn’t realize this until after the first few question.

  2. Wayne Leman says:

    Thanks, CD-Host. We who make up quizzes simply use the quiz software on Facebook which includes scoring and other features designed by the quiz programmers. We don’t have to know anything about scoring. I have noticed, however, that scoring is a function not only of how many answers one gets correctly but also how long it takes to get each correct answer.

    As for the time allowed per question, I have only seen it to be 15 seconds. That goes by quickly when I am unsure of an answer and keep debating it.

  3. Peter Kirk says:

    I’m sorry, but I’m not prepared to allow “Bible Vocabulary” access to my personal information. Wayne, I don’t mind you knowing this – my friends can see it anyway. But I do object to allowing this kind of access to “the quiz software on Facebook”, probably a third party application. Some of these applications are little short of viruses in the way that they spread themselves around to all the friends of people who take the quiz and invite them to join the quiz – and probably read the advertising.

  4. Wayne Leman says:

    Thanks, Peter. We all need to make ourselves as aware as possible what kinds of privacy issues are involved whenever we do anything on the Internet. I have set my Facebook settings to the highest possible amount of privacy that still allows me to enjoy interactions with my friends.

  5. Hannah C. says:

    That was certainly interesting. I got three wrong: one because I stupidly forgot for a moment what necromancer meant. The two which I’m guessing were from King James, concerning “quit” and “let” were VERY confusing. I couldn’t quite remember what “lasciviciousness” meant, either. (And I think I just spelled it wrong somehow…) It was quite easy to pick out the KJV-type verses!

    It would be nice if the quiz could be presented in a different format, even if it was just a plain text format somewhere and you had to write down your answers and then check them against the answers.

  6. Wayne Leman says:

    It would be nice if the quiz could be presented in a different format, even if it was just a plain text format somewhere and you had to write down your answers and then check them against the answers.

    That’s possible, Hannah. I could add it to my Bible Translation Surveys webpage (which may have some broken links; I haven’t checked it for a long time).

  7. Bible Quizzing says:

    I’ll have to get on Facebook sometime and give this a try. We love quizzes. But I have to admit I’m not on FB very much.

    I found the name of your site interesting. In what way are you proposing a ‘better’ Bible?

  8. Wayne Leman says:

    I found the name of your site interesting. In what way are you proposing a ‘better’ Bible?

    On this blog we discuss ways to make better translations of the Bible.

Leave a Reply

