3 thoughts on “Eugene Nida dies | United Bible Societies

  1. Nathan Bierma says:

    What a wise guide for all of us who care about Bible translation, and who care that the words of Scripture come alive for readers and hearers. Eugene Nida was not without his critics, but with grace and wisdom he insisted that solid knowledge about the way language actually works must shape the translation process. His impact is hard to overstate.

  2. paul darroch says:

    This marks a watershed in Bible Translation.
    For those of us in another part of the Christian Community it was the death in April of Rev David Wilkerson.
    Rev King just before he died said quoting Moses “I’ve been to the mountain top, I’ve seen the Promised Land I may not get there with you…”
    In my recent translation of Hebrews I was impressed by the words;
    ‘Get to the Destination’ and St Paul’s encouraging us to go on to get there.
    Eugene has influenced us all, and I wore out several copies of TEV and he is now in the grandstands and we younger Joshua’s have work to do….
    I thank God for Eugene, I never met him, probably am seen disagreeing with him yet his life has had a massive impact on the bibles I have used.

  3. exegete77 says:

    When I was a (second career) seminary student in the early 1980’s, I had the privilege of picking up Dr. Nida at the airport in St. Louis and bringing him to our seminary to speak. Wonderful conversation to and from the airport.

Leave a Reply

